Virtuosos of the Violin: Telemann Concerto and Strauss Sonata

In April, 2021, our limited engagement streaming event with the Camber Music Society of Lincoln Center featured a marvelously creative concerto by the baroque composer Telemann and a soaring and symphonic sonata for violin and piano by Richard Strauss. That engagement has now concluded. But we can share these performances from YouTube of these two pieces. The Telemann composition is performed by the Croatian Baroque Ensemble featuring Laura Vadjon, Tanja Tortić, Lada Magdalenić and Saša Reba. The Strauss Sonata features Danbi Um.

Georg Phillipp Telemann (1681-1767)

Concerto in D major for Four Violins, TWV 40:202 (c. 1720) 

  • Adagio 
  • Allegro 
  • Grave 
  • Allegro 

Richard Strauss (1864-1949)

Sonata in E-flat major for Violin and Piano, Op. 18 (1887-88) 

  • Allegro ma non troppo 
  • Improvisation: Andante cantabile 
  • Finale: Andante—Allegro 

Violinist Danbi Um has been called an “utterly dazzling” artist (The Strad), with “a marvelous show of superb technique” and “mesmerizing grace” (New York Classical Review). She is a Menuhin International Violin Competition Silver Medalist and winner of the Music Academy of the West Competition in 2014. She made her concerto debut performing the Walton Violin Concerto with the Festival Orchestra, conducted by Joshua Weilerstein. In the 2019-20 she performed in a national tour with the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, and at Wolf Trap, Cincinnati’s Linton Chamber Series, and Chicago’s Dame Myra Hess Concerts.  Admitted to the Curtis Institute of Music at the age of ten, Ms. Um graduated with a bachelor’s degree. Her teachers have included Shmuel Ashkenasi, Joseph Silverstein, Jaime Laredo, and Hagai Shaham. She is a winner of Astral’s 2015 National Auditions and plays on a 1683 “ex-Petschek” Nicolò Amati violin, on loan from a private collection.

Scroll to Top