Orpheus Chamber Orchestra

November 9, 2019

Eight musicians from this magnificent group will bring to our stage two works for winds and strings.  The first, Franz Schubert’s Octet in F Major, Op. D.803, was composed in 1824.  The second, Jean Françaix’s Octet for Winds and Strings, was composed in 1972 and will be having its first-ever performance in Westchester.  Founded in 1972, the Orpheus performs without a conductor, and presents an annual concert series in New York City that features performances at Carnegie Hall and the 92nd Street Y.


Laura Frautschi, violin
Renee Jolles, violin
Dov Scheindlin, viola
James Wilson, cello
Jordan Frazier, Bass
Thomas Jostlein, Horn
Frank Morelli, Bassoon
Alan Kay, clarinet

Visit their website

View the Program Notes

Scroll to Top